Strength Training

I knew last week when I had a debate with myself about how I “should” be going to Lean & Fit, that it was time for a change of my routine.  As I mentioned earlier, I’ve been doing the Greco L&F program for over two years.  It is an excellent overall cardio/strength/core workout.  All kinds of exercises that cause muscle confusion and your heart to go haywire.  I have never, and I mean NEVER, worked as hard doing that workout as I had ever in any gym, at any time, with any trainer or in a class setting.

The first night I showed up to do Lean & Fit, I was a little frightened of how fast the pace was, how the sequences worked, but I buckled down and I got through it.  As a “sitting for a living” Government employee, I had succumbed to the “50lbs” my friend said that I would gain….and I hadn’t even realized.  All the way home, I was in such a state that I don’t think my heart stopped racing until well into the next day.  It was insane.  And, I thought, how am I going to do THAT again?  TWICE, THREE times a week for the next 10 weeks?  But you know, it became a habit.  And I even participated in the running outside after class.  I didn’t get too far at first, but like everything else, I worked at it and it came along slowly…one post, two posts.

The whole process does become an addiction after a while and you just NEED to do it (or, maybe that’s just the way I felt about it…)….and now I need a new “challenge”….

I will join the Strength class for a few months and really see how far I can go.  I know that if I apply the same purpose to strength as I did to weight loss, I can do just about anything, within reason (I have scoliosis, so there are SOME limitations…).  For the most part, my back health is NO.1., but as long as there is no pain, I’m willing to push it.

Looking forward to this and all kinds of changes coming up.

Oh, and I’m doing a Personal Training Certification next weekend, and that will be fun too!

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

