Personal Training Course – Days 1&2

I want to start with this:

“Many people treat their bodies as if they were rented from Hertz — something they are using to get around in but nothing they genuinely care about understanding.”   — Chungliang Al Huang

The information we are learning is the course is based in science and training, and we are touching on each topic in such a general way that I realize that I’m going to have to work through alot of the answer finding myself.

I took several courses at Algonquin a few years back (okay, like 10 years back)…Anatomy, Exercise Physiology, Exercise Counseling, and a Fitness Leader course.  It’s not like I have permanently forgotten any of it, as I still have the textbooks, etc.  I just have to refamiliarize myself with all of it.  I wondered a few days ago why I never did continue and pursue that with more interest at the time. I ended up back in Electronics….about as far away from fitness as you can possibly imagine.

Going back to the quotation, I see now how understanding the body, even in very simple terms, is lost on most people.  Or, they just don’t care.  Some people want to be told exactly what to do, because let’s face it, that’s easy.  Actually paying attention and understanding takes work.  And, understanding they whys and the whynots of something doesn’t give you any wiggle room for excuses.

For example: I don’t understand how food is broken down to give me energy.  Can’t I eat potato chips all the time and still lose weight?  “You” said that I needed carbs and fat.  Potato chips are carbs and fat.  –  Teach the person the difference between complex and simple carbs, good and bad fats, and they no longer have the excuses they once did.  “I” ate that because I didn’t know any better.  After the teaching takes place, the person may still eat potato chips, but they do so knowing full well exactly what they are doing.

Most people do know general things and food and health, but again, do they care?  It’s easier to ignore than to face, and aren’t we all like that sometimes?

It’s really all about accountability and answerability.  Who are you accountable to or answering to in your life?  Well, for the most part, and on an individual basis, it’s only yourself you are answering to for your health.  No one can force you to do anything.

Another great quote from one of the men who worked at Greco: “What you eat becomes you.”

On to tomorrow…

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

