New Year – New Challenges – New Goals

Hey everyone!  Welcome to 2010 – The Year for Jen (from my friend Jen Mielke).  My “new year” resolutions seem to be on the 6 month mark because of when I first started at Greco on July 2, 2007.  However, as of today, I am back on my meal planning and will approach the next six months as a way to step everything up another notch with my strength training (still debating to jump back into L&F…).  I have had such great success over the past 2.5 years, that I know I can accomplish much, much more by the time 3 years rolls around on July 2, 2010.

Fitness and health has become such an important part of my life that I can’t imagine my life without it now.  What was I doing before 2007?  I was in a complete fog.  If you are there now – in a fog, not able to get out of a rut, lack energy and drive, have some minor or major health problems – this can all be turned around with exercise, better eating, and finding medical or alternative health care.  I’ve done it, I’ve seen it happen, my friends are doing it.

You owe it to yourself this year to DO, not to “try” (because trying is the same as NOT doing!).  Nike had something with their slogan.  DO one step today, another tomorrow.  From time to time you will get discouraged by a lack of progress, an injury, etc.  That’s what life is about.  Remember though, every step forward is one more step towards a goal you have.  If you stall, make it your goal to reassess where you are and where you want to go.  Sometime we get so caught up in the daily run-around that we never take the time to “appreciate” where we are.  Where have you come from?  What could you be doing differently?  What really is the next step?  The simple act of reflecting on where you are allows you to see the next step more clearly.

I have learned to appreciate many things over the past 2.5 years, not only in fitness but in people.  Most notably I appreciate the people that have come into my life to help me achieve my goals, whether personal or professional.  When you send appreciation into the world, the right people will come to you at the right time.  I believe it.

Call it the “secret”, call it “the law of attraction”, call it whatever you want.  It all boils down to the same thing.  You get what you give.  And by giving, you always get what you need.

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

