Assisted chin ups!

Okay, so I know I’m not that great when it comes to doing new things sometimes.  Tonight Brad had me try the assisted chin  ups.  Me and those blasted rubber bands don’t get along so well, but I feel a little better after tonight’s session.  As soon as I put my feet in it, like a stirrup, I feel like I am gonna fly somewhere.  Anyway, after some awkward moments I started to get the hang of it.  My trainer is patient, thank god.  I managed to do a two sets of 4 (one at the beginning and one at the end) and a few sets of 2 in between.  I can probably do more, but I was getting tired by the end.  Doing something new, wrapping my head around it, always wears me out a little mentally.  We aren’t going to be doing the palm forward pull downs anymore, we are going to work on the assisted chin ups from now on.

Strength class was good too, although after the PT session, I was a bit baked, so I didn’t seem to get through as much.  I did manage to do a little more work on split squats from last week, and a little less work (but higher weight) in squats.  I think I will go back to the squats with the bar next week, but I wanted to give myself a little break since I was pretty frustrated the last time I did them.  I am going to test to see where I am again with those and try the micro-loading there too.  I think if that method is working elsewhere, it might be the trick for my squats too, instead of trying to jump too much weight at once.

Ah, the things you don’t learn about yourself when you are trying to lift weight.

Tomorrow night – Henry Rollins at the Bronson Center.  I’m so excited!

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

