Priorities…

When you have a dozen things clamouring for your attention, which one gets it?  Is it about balance, the bottom line, doing what you love?

I don’t think I could ever be accused of being lazy.  Scattered yes, lazy no.  Is one better than the other?  Are they both necessary?

Over the past few years, I have focused myself to a few things – writing and writing related activities (publishing), and fitness.  I’m slowly beginning to realize that the one thing that pays the bills is preventing me from doing the things I love.  Why else would I stay up until 2am, working out dialogue that two characters are exchanging?  Only a crazy person would do that when they have to work at 9am.  Only a crazy person indeed.  But I have to do it.  Why else would I struggle to lift weights that are way heavier than a cat…(my cat’s pretty big).  I have to do it.

I don’t think I’m alone here, on this island of sacrifice.  I may have mentioned before, I’ve met a few people over the past few weeks who have an employed partner, which allows them to write full-time.  They are lucky and fortunate people.

I too am free to leave my occupation (ever wonder why we call it that?  occupation – meaning “trade” – is from the 1520s), but what I don’t have is someone to buy my food and pay for my cellphone.  So, for the time being, burning the midnight oil (a term from 17th century England), well…..it’s how all the priorities get attention.  And even then, I haven’t been to the gym in a week.  That’s bad.

I need to remember that a compass only points in one direction at a time, not everywhere at once (unless it’s broken).

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

