Bluesfest: Day 10: Hey Rosetta, Our Lady Peace, Blue Rodeo

It was blasted hot when I arrived tonight… But Hey Rosetta was a pretty good intro to the night. I took a breather for a few down by the River Stage until Our Lady Peace came on. Solid… Solid… Solid. Did not disappoint.

By far and away, Blue Rodeo delivered the perfect summer concert night. All the strange and beautiful songs they’re known for, sung to the clear night sky. There was only one thing missing. Although, oddly enough within reach.

Two of my favourites…

Diamond Mine:

And our love shines
Like a diamond mine

You say the party’s over
But like a drunken fool
I never know when to leave
It’s just that in the eyes of this beholder
You mean everything to me

Yea you say that you don’t love me
Yea you talk about the other boys
And you laugh in my face
But I know when you’re feeling sad and lonely
No other boy can take my place

Cause when I look into your eyes
Well our love shines
Yea our love shines
Like a diamond mine

Nothing’s as obvious as what is lost
Nothing’s as painful as the cost
Let it shine
Let it shine
Like a diamond mine

And I hear all these rumours about you
Yea the trash lines up at my door just to bring me the news
But all it does is make me kind of wonder
Why are people so eager to be so cruel

Cause when I look into your eyes
Well our love shines
Yea our love shines
Yea our love shines
Like a diamond mine
Like a diamond mine
Like a diamond mine
Like a diamond mine

And, Lost Together:

Strange and beautiful
Are the stars tonight
That dance around your head
In your eyes I see that perfect world
I hope that doesn’t sound too weird

And I want all the world to know
That your love’s all I need
All that I need
And if we’re lost
Then we are lost together
Yea if we’re lost
Then we are lost together

I stand before this faceless crowd
And I wonder why I bother
So much controlled by so few
Stumbling from one disaster to another

I’ve heard it all so many times before
It’s all a dream to me now
A dream to me now
And if we’re lost
Then we are lost together
Yea if we’re lost
Then we are lost together

In the silence of this whispered night
I listen only to your breath
And that second of a shooting star
Somehow it all makes sense

And I want all the world to know
That your love’s all I need
All that I need
And if we’re lost
Then we are lost together
Yea if we’re lost
Then we are lost together

What the hell am I going to do with myself next week… This has just been so amazing.

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

