A Movie for Every Year Of My Life: 1974

So, I saw this idea somewhere on the Interwebs, and I thought it could be fun to break up my usual posts…   A short short about a movie from every year I’ve been breathing – something that I likely would have liked, or watched, prior to say five years of age, and then some movie from every year that I watched movies after that…  Something that defines that year and my entire generation for me.  I’ll link one page to the next so that they can be viewed in order.

So, let’s start!

1974:  The Texas Chainsaw Massacre

Release date: October 1, 1974

“What happened was true.”

I wasn’t even two weeks old when this movie came out.  I’m sure this was of no interest to my parents, in the least. I’m about half way between my mom and dad’s age right now, at the time I was born.  I just can’t imagine them going for this…

Now, me, on the other hand…  I don’t think there’s any question.  I’ve always been a fan of horror. I like the fact that I can include this movie in my list, and that it was released so close to my birth day.

I was a voracious reader of all things macabre as a kid and teen, thanks to books left behind by my sister, and the fascination with the ordinary horrific.  The normal person who’s insane; the insane person who’s as regular as Sunday Mass.

Do you know who you live with?  Who you love? Do you lock your doors?

Have you traveled down a country road, desolate, and wondered who lived in the shack  nestled in the trees?

If your car broke down on a road trip, at 2am, do you walk up to a stranger’s door along a country highway?  I had it happen to me a few years ago when my gas pump died…  It was the strangest feeling of dread, that the person who opens the door is a stranger…and you don’t know what you’re going to face looking back at you.

Desperation, and the unknown, have been themes I’ve explored in most of my creative works.

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

