CMW Day 6 – Small venues/Big shows

My last night in town, and I finally made it to Rivoli. Had a chat with the bar manager as I waited for the venue to open up. He’s been doing the Queen Street thing for 23 years. Working in different bars, as security and staff. Neat guy. Had many stories to tell. He was lamenting the fact that the young folks didn’t know who some of the old time musicians were… It was a funny conversation.

I saw Blackie Jackett Jr, Scott Kempner and Glen Matlock. There’s just something spectacular about seeing these musicians in small venues, on a stage with mostly their acoustic instruments. I was thoroughly impressed…

Had a chat with Jimmy, from Blackie Jackett Jr., and his wife about music and movies and such. I thought they should come and play in Ottawa, for sure. They’re the kind of band who would totally fit on the Bluesfest River Stage and probably draw a significant crowd. They have this contemporary rockabilly sound with some catchy lyrics that made you want to sing along.

About movies, Jimmy said he’s been kicking around some short film ideas, and I was telling him about Digi60 180 and that they were looking for filmmakers from other cities. He wanted to see some of the stuff I’d been working on, so I’m going to send him my work. Could be fun to do a collaboration with him.

Then I finished out the week meeting up with Ian again at Bovine. Interesting lad. He was making some broad assumptions about why I had chosen to come to CMW and he thought that I would have more interest in NXNE. That may be true… But the way I see it, I’m a fan of music, and I would much rather see musicians in small venues sometimes… There’s less BS and I can actually see them and maybe even talk to them after. Going to a huge concert is fun too, but I’ve always enjoyed smaller shows. Makes it more real and interactive.

I’ll probably do one more entry about CMW as a wrap up about this incredible experience. Stay tuned.

About mizmulligan


Leave a Reply

